CBE Intranet

Committees + Governance

The College of Built Environments is guided by several active committees that help guide and shape the direction of the college. These include the BE Executive Committee, BE College Council, BE Staff Council, BE Student Council, and department/unit/center based councils.

CBE Bylaws

CBE Executive Committee

The CBE Executive Committee is made up of the leadership of the College of Built Environments comprised of the dean, associate deans, chairs of each department, key college staff, and a representative from the BE Staff Council. The committee meets several times per quarter and is staffed by Susanne Adamson (adamsons@uw.edu).

BE Executive Committee Roster:

Renée Cheng, Dean
Vikram Prakash, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Carrie Dossick, Associate Dean for Research
Brian McLaren, Chair, Department of Architecture
Bill Bender, Chair, Department of Construction Management
Ken Yocom, Chair, Department of Landscape Architecture
Pike Oliver, Chair, Department of Real Estate
Chris Campbell, Chair, Department of Urban Design and Planning
Jeffery Ochsner, Senior Advisor for Policy and Procedure
Alex Haslam, Assistant Dean for Advancement and External Relations
Rachel Ward, Assistant Dean for Budget and Planning
Mark Baratta, Director of Operations

CBE College Council

The CBE College Council provides governance for the faculty of the College. It is concerned with all domains of faculty authority and duties of the College faculty and the professional and personnel issues affecting faculty. The College Council is directly accountable to the faculty as a whole, from which it is elected.

For more info, visit our webpage.

CBE Staff Council

The Council was created to provide College of Built Environments staff with a forum to discuss and bring ideas and concerns forward to the dean. The CBE Staff Council is made up of one representative from each academic department, one representative from the Dean’s Office and one at-large member.

For more info, including resources for staff, visit our webpage.

CBE Student Council

Mission: The BESC, serving the University of Washington College of the Built Environments, is committed to facilitating interdisciplinarity; to gathering, formulating, and articulating student interests and concerns from within each College department and doctoral program; and to communicating, through a unified representational voice, to College faculty, administration and staff, and to the greater UW community. The BESC also serves as an official liaison between the larger student body and College administration, providing a means of communication and cooperation on issues and policy-making deemed by either party to be relevant to student life and academic experience.

*This mission statement was developed by the volunteer BE-SC planning group (students and administrators) as a starting point for forming the Council and amended by the Inaugural Council in 2012-13 and further clarified by the 2013-14 Committee*

The BE Student Council is made up of two individuals (one undergraduate and one graduate) from each of the College’s departments, as well as a Ph.D student. One Chair and one Co-Chair are elected from the previous year’s council. If you are interested in one of the open positions on the council (listed below), please fill out a survey letting us know!

For questions, more information, or to reach out to members of the BESC, please email besc@uw.edu.

To stay current on BESC events, join us online through Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/uwbesc.

Ingrid Pelletier [Arch Undergraduate] – Chair
Ryan Willis [Arch Graduate]
Open Position [LA Undergraduate]
Open Position [LA Graduate]
Heather Lecrone [UDP Undergraduate]
Open Position [UDP Graduate]
Eduardo Equihua [CM Undergraduate]
Open Position [CM Graduate]
Open Position [Real Estate]
Open Position [PhD]

If you are interested in applying for one of the open positions within BESC, please fill out an application here.