Climate Challenge Cup


Visit Webpage

The Climate Challenge Cup is a new international competition to elevate and help scale transformative civic research partnerships between research bodies, civic organisations and local communities to combat climate change.

The Cup is open to existing partnerships between research organisations, civic authorities and local communities in the UK and US.  The competition has two categories:

  • Achieving net zero: Projects that are helping reduce emissions at a local or regional level to achieve net zero

  • Climate change adaptation: Projects that are working with communities in regions affected by climate change to mitigate or adapt to the effects it is having

Up to twelve shortlisted partnerships, across the two categories, will be brought together in October to share their projects that address some of society’s biggest climate challenges at a local level.

Finalists will showcase their projects to an audience of global change-makers during COP26 in November. One winning partnership from each category will win the first ever prestigious Climate Challenge Cup in recognition of their outstanding innovative project which has the potential to be scaled.

***Applications open 23 August 2021 (14:30 GMT/09:30 ET) and will close 24 September 2021 (17:00 GMT/12:00 ET)***


ARCHCEPCMCollegeCompetitionsFacultyFundingGraduateLARCHOpportunitiesPh.D.REResearchStudentsUDP