FEMA: Hazard Mitigation Grant Programs

Visit Webpage

FEMA’s two competitive mitigation grant programs provide states, local communities, tribes and territories funding for eligible mitigation activities to strengthen our nation’s ability to build a culture of preparedness by reducing disaster losses and protecting life and property from future disaster damage.

The two grant programs include FMA and BRIC.

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA): The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program makes federal funds available to states, U.S. territories, tribal governments, and local communities to reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Only projects that directly mitigate NFIP-insured
properties qualify for FMA grant funding.

Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC): The BRIC program makes federal funds available to states, U.S territories, tribes, and local communities for pre-disaster
mitigation activities. It is a cost-shared grant, 75 percent federal funds and 25 percent local (non-federal) matching funds, which is distributed through the reimbursement of eligible expenses over a 3-year period of performance.

Pre-applications Deadline: September 7, 2021