Leicester B. Holland Prize

Visit Webpage

The Leicester B. Holland Prize is an annual competition that recognizes the best single-sheet measured drawing of a historic building, site, or structure prepared by an individual(s) to the standards of the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering (HAER), or the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). The prize honors Leicester B. Holland, a founder of the HABS and the first curator of the Library of Congress HABS collection. The competition, open to both students and professionals, is intended to promote appreciation of historic American architecture, engineering, and landscape architecture, and to honor excellence in delineation and composition. 

Judging Criteria:

  • Drafting
  • Composition
  • Depiction of significant features
  • Field records
  • Dimensioning and annotation


The Library of Congress will announce the winning drawing, and the winner will receive a $1500 cash prize and a certificate of recognition. Merit awards of $500 may also be given to select drawings.


  • American Institute of Architects 
  • Library of Congress
  • National Park Service 
  • Paul Rudolph Trust 


Submission Deadlines:

1 September 2022 – Entry Forms

1 October 2022 – Final Entries