Peterson Prize for Architectural Drawings

Visit Webpage

The Peterson Prize annually recognizes the best sets of architectural measured drawings produced by college students and submitted for the HABS/HAER/HALS Collection at the Library of Congress. The Prize, jointly sponsored with the Athenaeum of Philadelphia, the American Institute of Architects, and the Association for Preservation Technology, is named in honor of Charles E. Peterson, FAIA (1906-2004), a founder of the HABS program, and is intended to increase awareness, knowledge, and appreciation of historic buildings throughout the United States. 

Award Amounts

All prizes are awarded at the discretion of the jury:

  • First Place: $5,000 and Certificate
  • Second Place: $3,000 and Certificate
  • Third Place: $2,000 and Certificate
  • Honorable Mention: $500 and Certificate