CBE College Council Meeting October 24, 2023 8:00 am

Attendees:

Jan Whittington (UDP) (Chair), Jeff Hou (LA) (Past Chair), Yong-Woo Kim (CM), Rebecca Walter (RE), Gundula Proksch (Arch), Louisa Iarocci (Arch) (Note-taker)

The meeting minutes from 06.05.23 meeting was approved and will be posted on the CBE website shortly.

Action: Vote on CC Chair-elect (AY23-24)

The Committee welcomed Gundula Proksch (Arch) to the College Council. The Council voted unanimously to elect Proksch to serve as College Council chair next year (2024-2025).

Chair Updates:

Jan Whittington (Chair) provided the link to the Google Folder where all College Council related documents are shared in one place. She encouraged members to review and share documents related to CC business using this system.

Action: College Council Sub-Committees:

Jan Whittington turned to the matter of reassigning and setting up new sub-committees to review and advise on pressing college issues. After a discussion it was proposed that the following sub-committees be established and the following members were proposed. The College Council Chair has already contacted some potential members and will follow up and contact others. (names in italics to be confirmed). The chair welcomes any further suggestions for members.

- a. Budget Committee: Jeff Hou (LA), Arthur Acolin (RE), *Chris Lee (CM)*, Gundula Proksch (Arch)
- b. Curriculum Committee: Yong-Woo Kim (CM) (College Council Liaison)
- c. Policy Review Committee: Rebecca Walter (RE), Ann Huppert (Arch), Jeffrey Ochsner (Arch)
- d. Hiring Practices: Sophia Dermisi (RE), Manish Chalana (UDP), Jan Whittington (UDP)

Unit Adjustment:

Jan Whittington reported that she received an email from the Dean's Office yesterday Oct. 23rd stating that the chairs and CBE leadership have decided "to forgo the opportunity for unit adjustment until we can create an effective multiple year plan." This decision was said to be based on the pending "completion of a faculty-led effort around understanding workload differences across the departments (done as part of the CBE LEADS program) and better understanding the potential for any enrollment growth in large undergraduate classes." The Chair will compose an email response – in the meanwhile College Council members were urged to communicate with their Chair and department colleagues to discuss this issue.

TPMR Cases:

Jan Whittington indicated that she has been copied on correspondence from Gerri Williams sidered(Human Resources Administrator/Dept Manager) and Lynne Manzo, (Associate Dean for Academic Affairs) about the timing of the review process for the Tenure and Promotion cases that are anticipated this year. It appears that some cases have been voted on in their departments but have not yet reached the College Council for review. The role of College Council in the Tenure and Promotion process was discussed, along with whether the Council has a quorum to handle the cases for Full Professor. Louisa larocci will look into this issue and report back to the Council. Jeff Hou stressed the importance of College Council scheduling meetings to correspond to the TPM timeframe.

Faculty Senate Update:

Rebecca Walter reported on the participation of CBE faculty on Faculty Senate Committees, noting that Manish Chalana (UDP) is the new College representative on the Senate Executive Committee. He and Rebecca Walter serve as representatives on the Faculty Senate. Jan Whittington and Gundula Proksch are co-chairs of the Faculty Council on Campus Planning and Stewardship (FCCPS) and Rebecca is the co-chair of the Faculty Council on Benefits and Retirement. Jan Whittington is also on the Senate Committee on Planning and Budgeting. Rebecca noted that faculty should refer to the FCBR website regarding errors made in retirement benefits and contact her if anyone has received a letter about corrections or has questions. FCCPS is holding a Decarbonization Town Hall this Wed. Oct 25th at 4:30 pm in Kane Hall 110.

Curriculum Committee and Budget Subcommittee updates:

There are no updates at this time.

Council schedule for Fall Quarter, 2023

See below for the proposed schedule.

Good of the order Adjournment at 9:30 am

Council Membership AY23-24/

- Jan Whittington (UDP) (Chair) Year 2/3, Alternate: Christine Bae
- Jeff Hou (LA) (Past Chair) Year 3/3; Alternate: Julie Johnson
- Gundula Proksch (Arch) (Chair-Elect) Year 1/3; Alternate: Rob Pena
- Louisa Iarocci (Arch) Year 2/3; Alternate: TBA
- Yong-Woo Kim (CM) Year 2/3; Alternate: Ahmed Aziz
- Rebecca Walter (RE) Year 3/3; Alternate: Gregg Colburn

Upcoming meetings/ Autumn 2023

Thurs Nov 9th: 8:30-10:00 am
Tues. Nov 21: 9:30-11:00 am

- Tues. Dec 5th: 9:30-11:00 am
- Tues Jan 4th 8:30-10:00 am