CBE Intranet

Johnston-Hastings Publication Support Endowment

Emeritus Professor Norman J. Johnston and his wife, L. Jane Hastings, established an endowed publications support fund to provide money for publication activities of faculty and students in the College.  Support is for work that has been accepted for publication rather than the writing thereof.  Such support is needed for publication; especially where a University Press is involved.   


  • The donors wish to give priority to junior faculty members who are involved in a rigorous research program that requires travel to a specific site or sites.


  • May 8, 2021: application period opens
  • June 5, 2021: application deadline (11:59pm Pacific)
  • June 15, 2021: awardees notified

Application Format

Please submit a written narrative (maximum of one page) addressing the following: 

  • 1) a brief statement of purpose describing the work that has been accepted for publication and its relevance to the College and/or professions
  • 2) the estimated cost of publication and other sources of funding contracted or in hand
  • 3) the intended audience
  • 4) the publication deadline.

Please submit applications to the Dean’s Office attention: Susanne Adamson, adamsons@uw.edu, via e-mail with the title “Submission – Johnston Hastings – YOUR NAME”.

Terms and Conditions

  • Material submitted for publication is expected to reflect the specialized interest of the College and its disciplines, faculty, and students.
  • Recipients are asked to include appropriate acknowledgement of the support in the pages of any resulting publication.
  • On publication, recipients are to donate one copy of the book to the BE Library.
  • Johnston/Hastings Endowment funds may be used for direct publication costs only.  Such costs may include a direct publication subvention (paid to an Academic Press), or the cost of acquisition of photographs (or rights to publish photographs), or similar costs. 
  • Costs for which the Johnston/Hastings funds may not be used include copy editing, preparing an index, preparing a glossary, or other similar costs for tasks that faculty are typically able to do themselves.

Past Award Recipients


Questions: Please contact Carrie Sturts Dossick, Associate Dean for Research: cdossick@uw.edu